French Garden Obsession

I know I said I was taking a hiatus from blogging for the month of March, but I’m feeling the gardening itch and I need to work it out “on paper”. For those of you who know me, you know that I love France. Honestly, I never thought much of France until 1999 when I visited Paris for the first time. I instantly fell in love with the city and the beautiful country. A decade went by and I thought perhaps the French itch had subsided, but last year I went back and the love is still there. My dream? To pack up the family and move to France. The reality? My husband hates all things French and has absolutely no desire to leave Texas, much less the good ol’ USA. So, since I can’t go to France I’m bringing France to me. My home decor is slowly becoming an homage to the France. Nothing too dramatic, but if you pay close attention you will see the French inspiration working it’s way into my home. But it’s not enough… I want to feel like I’m in France. The good news? The soil where I live is remarkably close to that of Provence. The temperature? Not so much, but I can work around that.

The first thing I want to do is plant a foundation. As much as I dislike doing “typical” design, when it comes to French gardens, you have to use the boxwood. Here are a few things I have found that I love:

Ok, you get the idea. Once I knock out the foundation of boxwoods, I really, really want to plant a lavender field. Something like this:

I’ve done a ton of research and the soil where I live is ideal for lavender so I think there may be hope!

The other thing I’m dying to do is add shutters to a couple of the windows. Something like this:

One of the things the builder of this house did right was the arch windows. Very French and something I can work with. The front of the home is also stone – also very French.  Now granted it’s limestone, but hey! stone none-the-less, right?

There is a ton to do, and it will probably take a couple of years to finish it all. One of our biggest problems are the deer. They eat everything and love roses like we love chocolate. But I have to have roses. You can’t be a rozy home without roses! But the deer will be a problem. One thing I have working for me is that they hate lavender, so if I start with the lavender and “scare” them off with that, eventually I can add roses. Hopefully.

But for now, I’m going to start with the boxwoods. We have a massive amount of space to cover, so it will be expensive. I’m planning to head to the nursery today to grab a few and get started. As always, I’ll keep you posted and make sure to do before and after pics. Wish me luck!

 

 

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

